The Witch of Northcote

 

Georgia. Aged 8.

I hold my breath when I pass number six. It smells like wee and cat litter. There’s always a fat orange moggy who brushes past my leg. The witch lady is inside. I see the curtain twitch and her long nose. My Mum phoned the council because of the odour and the rubbish. I bet she drinks blood and eats babies. Boils up frogs and herbs in a giant pot. I bet she likes to strip the flesh from childrens’ bones, fry it on the stove and gobble it up in a sandwich.

Meryl. Aged 55.

I’ve forgotten how to speak to people. Tom left fifteen years ago when I couldn’t give him children. I talk to myself and my voice squeaks, like the winder on a jack-in-the-box. The cats follow at my calves—they need me. At night they curl around my head on the pillow, their tails swish soft against my cheek. I read my books and the words take me to other places. I imagine beauty, warmth and companionship. I sleep. In my dreams I am young, my teeth white and straight, my limbs supple. On waking, my eyes are gritty. The cotton of my black dress is stiff with sweat and dirt. I eat from cans as the phone shrills. It’s the council. They pound on the door. I’ll be taken away soon. Everyone thinks I’m mad. I hear children playing outside and it is a spark of joy in the dark. I ask myself, what is left?

Northcote Leader. June 2016. Page 12.

The woman, aged 55, was found sitting on a couch in her squalid flat by a neighbour. The cause of death is unknown and an autopsy will be conducted on Monday. She had been deceased for two weeks, her eight starving cats gathered around her.

One thought on “The Witch of Northcote

Leave a Reply

